We all know how overwhelming it can feel to sit in front of a huge amount of information and not know which part is important to you.

This is why Demodesk offers to create groups that allow you to structure the Playbooks and Event Types within your company. In addition, you can restrict the visibility through restricted groups to make content management even more simple.

Let me give you an example:

  • Shared groups: these groups allow smaller companies to organize their content better and indicate which Playbook/ Event Type is relevant for specific groups of users

    • grouped by Sales, Customer Success, Tech, Product, etc.

  • Restricted groups: for bigger cooperations that have independent entities, where content is strictly separated by these

    • grouped by countries, i.e. GER, PT, SP, NL, etc.

With that being said, we are ready to get started. Here is everything you need to know:

  1. Managing groups

  2. Managing content in groups

  3. Adding users to groups


Managing groups

By default, every account has one group, the shared General group. Apart from that, we differentiate between the above-mentioned types of groups. The key differences are:

  • Shared groups: every user has access to the group and its content; existing and new users are added automatically

  • Restricted groups: only users assigned to the group can see the content in this group

Admin users can create new groups; you need to go to your settings, to the groups' section.

Adding or deleting users can easily be done in the teammates' section. Click on edit and choose the desired action. When you delete the whole group, the content is moved to the general group.

If you find that some Event Types have suddenly disappeared for you, your admin has probably removed you from the group. Please contact an admin on your team to add you to the intended group, or to unrestrict it so you can view it.

Managing content in groups

Similar to having every account in the default general groups, each Playbook and Event Type is also included in this group.

Moreover, team content can be moved across different groups just as you need it.

When moving content to a new restricted group, be aware that we will move the users as well, if:

  • the user has the Event Type as default and is not part of the new restricted group

  • the user can be booked for the Event Type, but is not part of the new restricted group

Your personal content appears as a restricted group, but no content can not be moved there. If you still need to have a specific Playbook or Event Type in your personal group, you can simply duplicate it there. Furthermore, you can duplicate content within a group and then move it to another.

If you need to have it in several groups, we recommend assigning it to the General group, so you don't have duplicates, thus a higher management overhead.

Adding users to groups

There are different ways to add users to their groups:

Adding an existing user: When you create a new restricted group in the groups' section in your settings, simply add the respective user there. In addition, when editing a user in the teammates' section, the user can be assigned to all relevant groups.

Adding a new user: Inviting a new user contains three steps:

  1. You need the general information, such as the name, email address, and permissions

  2. In the group assignment, the user will be automatically added to all shared groups, the restricted groups need to be selected manually.

  3. In the Event Type assignment, you can specify which Event Type the user can be booked for. For Event Types in restricted groups, users can only be assigned if they are part of the group.

This allows you to fully set up new users in advance, so they got access to all the relevant content once they get invited.

Did this answer your question?