Demodesk offers several features for you to use during a meeting. This article is designed for you to manage every situation. We will go through every feature from left to right in the control bar at the bottom of your screen, which consists of

Timer

The meeting timer helps you to use your and your customer's time effectively.

It indicates how much time you have left so that you can focus on the conversation. The participant, however, will not be able to see the timer.

Fifteen minutes before the meeting end, it will turn yellow, reminding you to steer the discussion to the next steps. The last 5 minutes are red to make sure you're ready to finish on time.

Keep in mind that the timer will only work if you start a scheduled meeting on time (there is no timer for instant meetings). Moreover, if you feel distracted by it, you can quickly turn off in your setting here.

Meeting

The meeting info provides you with an overview of all participants of the meeting. You can also see which of your participants are muted or not and, if necessary, mute everybody or specific people.

You will also see the meeting link if you need to invite someone to a meeting that has started already. This link can be sent out separately or via email. A Template for that is provided when you click on email invite, you can customize this as you like.

If one of the participants needs to dial in via phone, the number and code will be found when clicking on dial-in.

You can also ask a participant to share a website or a local screen. To request that, click on the three dots next to the participant. Then choose a website, or the local desktop should be shared, and you are good to go!

If you click on the following button next to a person's name, you can give control to just one specific person instead of the whole audience. This helps you to ensure that the meeting will run just as you planned it.

Chat

Use the in-meeting chat to send messages to every participant (group chats) or just specific guests (private messages).

The chat is a great way of communicating if you want to add or comment on something but don't want to interrupt the speaking person.

If you want to get some more detailed information about the chat feature, check out this article.

Share

You can choose between sharing a website or your local desktop, here is what you need to know about both options.

  1. Sharing a website: simply add the link of the website you want to share, and it will open in the virtual screen. Here is a more detailed overview of everything you can do when sharing a website.

    Be aware that you can also share documents and google slides like this! Just edit the shared link of the document/slides such that everyone can edit them and add them as a website.

  2. Sharing your local desktop: sometimes, you will still need to use local screen sharing, for example, showing a locally installed desktop app. If you want to know more about it, click here.

Give control

Once you click on the control sharing button and it turns blue, your participants can fully control the mouse and keyboard, therefore use your web app like it would be displayed on their local browsers.

This feature allows you to engage with your customers thoroughly but at the same time gives you the ability to take back control if something doesn't turn out the way you want it to.

Video and audio options

There are two ways to control the video and audio settings within your meeting. The first one is through the two buttons right in the middle of this bar, the second one is under more, but we'll get to that option later.

These two buttons allow you to change your audio and video options during a meeting. Check out the following article for a more detailed explanation.

End meeting

Just click on this button to end the meeting, and the meeting will end for every participant. If you, as a host, need to leave early but your participants don't, there will still be a 5 min buffer before the meeting closes for them as well.

After ending the meeting as a host, you will be redirected to the page for the meeting review and the follow-up email.

More

For more detailed settings, go to the three dots in the bottom right corner.

Click on full screen to just see the meeting window.

Change the layout here or in the top right corner. You can choose between three different layouts:

  1. Full virtual screen view. The contents of the virtual screen take up all of the viewer's space which is great for when you need it to be especially large for what you're showing.

  2. Split-screen view. It makes the virtual screen slightly smaller and includes a line of the webcams of call participants. If there are more participants with webcams than can fit, the participants who talked most recently are pushed to the top, and some webcams are not included on the screen.

  3. Webcam only view. It only shows the webcams of the call participants. This can work well if you don't need the virtual screen or if you want to do casual intros and goodbyes at the beginning and end of calls.

While the screen resolution is always automatically optimized for your screen, you can also change it manually if you need to. This can be helpful for example if you want to specifically address a guest who dialed in via phone.

Click on website language to change it. You can change it here before it will be set to the language you chose in your settings.

If you want to start recording the meeting simply click on it, and it will start. The recording will be saved automatically afterward and is ready to be shared with your customer. Check out this article if you are looking for a more detailed explanation.

Similar to the meeting info, the info to dial in via phone can also be found here.

As mentioned before, audio and video settings can be changed here as well.

Did this answer your question?